Caron’s OT winner gives GP 2nd NPHL title

Chris Clegg Writer

Mackenzie Caron scored at 12:41 of the first overtime period to give the Grande Prairie Athletics a thrilling 3-2 win and their second NPHL Campbell Cup title in team history.
Parker Sharp assisted on the game-winning goal as the two clubs battled hard throughout the game in a classic fitting of two great teams.
It marked the 10th time in the 66-year league history of the league the final was decided in overtime.

How fitting was it that the two teams went to overtime to decide the series! In their NPHL history going into the game [including playoff] the teams had split their first 104 games with each team winning 52.
Alex Curran and Dennis Rix – the playoffs leading scorer – gave GP a 2-0 first period lead.
In the second period, DC responded with power play goals from Dolan Bjornson and Mike Lalonde. DC was unable to score even strength all night, which proved to be their downfall.
Past the midway point of the game, the referees tossed their whistles aside and let the teams decide the outcome. Jonathan Jasper’s penalty early in the third period was the only penalty called.
GP goaltender Kiefer Smiley was named MVP of the playoffs.

Dawson Creek 2 at Grande Prairie 3 [OT]
Thursday, March 21
[Grande Prairie wins series 4-2]

First period
1. GP, Alex Curran 5 (Dennis Rix) 00:47
2. GP, Dennis Rix 8 (Mark Stojan, Morgan MacLean) 17:17
Penalties: Mackenzie Caron GP (hooking) 4:05, Brett Norman DC (slashing) 4:25, Morgan MacLean GP (hooking) 7:34, Jeff Taylor DC (slashing) 18:04, Lyndin Lewis GP (cross-checking) 19:39.
Second period
3. DC, Dolan Bjornson 3 (Matt Schmermund, Kevin Swales) 1:12 (pp)
4. DC, Mike Lalonde 4 (Jeff Taylor, Kevin Swales) 5:09 (pp)
Penalties: Chris Lanouette GP (interference) 4:27, Blake Clement GP (roughing) 8:19.
Third period
No scoring.
Penalty: Jonathan Jasper DC (tripping) 2:59.
5. GP, Mackenzie Caron 8 (Parker Sharp) 13:41.
Penalties: None.
Shots on goal:
Dawson Creek 6-12-8-11-37
Grande Prairie 14-7-15-5-41
Goal: Kenton White, DC; Kiefer Smiley, GP.
Power Plays: DC 2-5; GP 0-3.
PIM: DC 6; GP 10.

NPHL Finals Statistics

By Chris Clegg Writer

Following are some of the statistics following the completion of the NPHL Final March 21. Information is free to use provided credit is given to

GP wins its 2nd NPHL title.
GP is now 2-4 in 6 NPHL Finals series played.
DC is now 2-2 in 4 NPHL Finals series played.
GP is now 16-20 in NPHL Finals in games played.
DC is now 10-10 in NPHL Finals in games played.
This season marks the latest the NPHL Final has gone since 2012 [March 25].
Only twice has the NPHL Final been won on March 21 [Grimshaw in 1955].
The NPHL title has been clinched on home ice 38 times in 66 years.
The NPHL title has been won in Game 6 18 times.
– Game 4 21 times.
– Game 5 14 times.
– Game 6 18 times.
– Game 7 13 times.
The home team has clinched the NPHL title in 38 of 66 years [road team 28 wins].
This is the 10th time the NPHL title has been won in overtime.
– 1967 – Fairview 3 at Peace River 4.
– 1978 – Fairview 5 at High Prairie 7 [10-minute OT period played].
– 1980 – Grimshaw 8 at High Prairie 7.
– 1985 – Grimshaw 4 at High Prairie 5.
– 1986 – Manning 3 at High Prairie 4.
– 1987 – Manning 2 at Falher 1.
– 2011 – Spirit River 4 at Falher 3 [3OT].
– 2012 – Falher 3 at Grande Prairie 2.
– 2017 – Falher 5 at Spirit River 6.
– 2019 – Dawson Creek 2 at Grande Prairie 3.
This is the 12th time the home team has gone 3-0 in the NPHL Final.
5 – High Prairie.
3 – Peace River.
1 – Fairview.
1 – Grande Prairie.
1 – Grimshaw.
1 – McLennan.
NOTE: Horse Lake is the only team to go 4-0 at home in the NPHL Final. In 2004, HL defeated Spirit River. It was the only series in NPHL history where the home team won all seven games.
Six other times, the home team was 3-1 at home in the NPHL Final.
3 – Peace River.
2 – Grimshaw.
1 – Fairview.