A’s eliminate defending champs

Chris Clegg
NPHL.com Writer

The NPHL will crown a new champion in 2018-19.
The hometown Grande Prairie Athletics eliminated the Fort St. John Flyers in five games after winning 6-3 Thursday night.
The A’s scored four second period goals and received goals from six different players in the series clinching game.

The A’s caught fire after a scoreless first period by scoring three goals in the first 9:44 minutes of the second. Sheldon McArthur, Devin Bell and Mark Stojan put pucks past Travis McLean and GP was in control, with a lead they would never surrender.
FSJ did rally on goals from Jaxon Glass and Clayton Bahm to close the gap to 3-2 but Tanner Labbe’s late goal proved to be the game-winner. It restored GP’s two-goal lead.
Reid Campbell scored on a power play in the third period to pull FSJ back to within one on goal at 4-3.
However, try as they might, FSJ could not equalize. GP sealed the win on goals from Tyrell Mason with 1:07 left, and Darion Fay with 47 seconds left.
The A’s face the Falher Pirates in the NPHL Semi-Final. FAL disposed of the High Prairie Regals in four straight.

Flyers 3 at Athletics 6
Thu., Feb. 14
[Athletics win series 4-1]

First period
No scoring.
Penalties: Dennis Rix GP (high-sticking) 3:19, Chris Lanoette GP (cross-checking) 4:39, James Walsh FSJ (hooking) 10:12.
Second period
1. GP, Sheldon McArthur 2 (Devin Bell, Darion Fay) 1:48
2. GP, Devin Bell 1 (Darion Fay, Tyrell Mason) 8:39
3. GP, Mark Stojan 3 (Braden Crone, Lynden Lewis) 9:44
4. FSJ, Jaxon Glass 2 (Rylan Sideroff, Joey Massingham) 11:07
5. FSJ, Clayton Bahm 1 (Lien Miller-Jeannotte, Robbie Sidhu) 12:05
6. GP, Tanner Labbe 2 (Braden Crone) 17:46
Penalties: Sam Bosek GP (spearing double minor) 15:04, Reid Campbell FSJ (interference) 16:22.
Third period
7. FSJ, Reid Campbell 1 (Adam Horst, Rick Cleaver) 10:38 (pp)
8. GP, Tyrell Mason 2 (Dennis Rix) 18:53
9. GP, Darion Fay 1 (Blake Clement) 19:13
Penalties: Lynden Lewis GP (slashing) 9:37, Reid Campbell FSJ (tripping) 14:57, Lien Miller-Jeannotte FSJ (misconduct) 18:53, Layne Stopanski FSJ (slashing) and Tyrone Kipling GP (unsportsmanlike) 19:52, Chris Lanoette GP (roughing, misconduct) 19:54.
Shots on goal:

Fort St. John	11	 7	11	-29
Grande Prairie 14 21 14 -49

Goaltenders: Flyers, Travis McLean; Athletics, Kiefer Smiley.
Power Plays: FSJ 1-6; GP 0-2.
Penalties in Minutes: FSJ 18; GP 24.

NOTE: FSJ started Travis McLean.
It was not noted on the scoresheet
when the goaltending change
occurred and Ty Gullickson came in.